Say my name, say my name

3 May

Apologies to Destiny’s Child (you too Mrs. Carter), but that was the first thing that popped into my head when I listened to the Today Programme this morning. I have no intention of becoming a political blogger but that’s going to be difficult if I keep listening to Radio 4 in the morning.

It struck me as strange that throughout this week, Tory politicians have found it difficult to say ‘UKIP’ as if saying it out loud would prove their existence. Er, it would be nice to credit us with a brain cell or two. As we know from the election results that they do exist and people are listening.

This morning Grant Shapps, Conservative Party Chairman, did manage to get it out of his system an incredible two times when pressed by Evan Davis and only when discussing them in the negative. It may not be as extreme as dubbing out Gerry Adams voice on news bulletins, but I can see similarities.

Bovvered?

No not really, but mainstream politicians would do well to rerun yesterday’s BBC breakfast episode where one of the pet office peeves of most people surveyed, was ‘office speak’ (my term) instead of English. People want a straight answer to a straight question, even if it is coming from UKIP.

Pause…

No, lighting hasn’t struck me. UKIP! Nah, still here.

If you were wondering “Is he a UKIP sympathiser?”, all I’ve got to say about that is I read the Guardian. UKIP stand for everything I don’t believe in; their views on immigration and especially lifting the smoking ban.

Well that’s quite enough politics for one day, I’m going to get back to writing about coffee or something.

By the way all thoughts are my own; I do have a brain cell.

Gagged man

Leave a Reply

Crofton Park Baptist Church

Building Bridges, Building Communities, Building Disciples

The family that prays

Sharing is caring

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

justlatsblog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Somewhere for my stuff

Work in progress

Alma Zosan

Just A Nobody's Life In Words And Pictures

